It came from Planet Barbie

So I’m trying to get myself back into shape. Without going into too much detail, I recently had a bout with anti-depressants. Finally, it was decided that I didn’t have to choose between crazy and fat and I got off them. Sadly, entropy being what it is, it is much harder to get the weight off than on.

Anyway, I’m watching my diet (about to get much more serious about it, stay tuned), and I work out just about every day. Most of the trainers at the gym I go to (Wild Basin, you rock!) have seen me come in pretty faithfully for the past 8 months and help me and are cool.

Notice how I said most.

I tried a new class yesterday. I had a feeling that there might be a problem when the 40-ish trainer was wearing pig tails. No one over the age of 12 should wear pigtails. Then I noticed that she was wearing her mascara in such a way that she appeared to have four eyelashes on each eye. Nothing good would come of this.

This was a circiut class, which means that there are a bunch of stations for various forms of torture and you rotate around. When I walked in, she looked at me and gave me this look like “Oh God! I hope she doesn’t drop dead on me!”, which of course does wonders for my already fragile self esteem in this category. She then starts to name all of the equipment for me in this really condesending tone of voice (and if you can imagine it in a Texas Twang, all the better):

Pig Tail Trainer: “Have you seen one of these before?”

Me: “You mean a dumbbell?”

PTT: “Yeah! That’s right! And this here…?”

Me: “Is a balance ball…”

PTT: “And how about this one…”

Me: ” That’s a weight bench.”

And so on….

I understand that I am overweight, but I am in actually in good fitness, if that makes any sense. And I understand that since it was the first time I took the class, she might want to point a few things out to me. But her attitude really put me off. Most other trainers are really supportive. They have the attitude that if you are actually in there, then yippee for you. But this one made me feel like I was invading Planet Barbie. Like only the fit could be in there.

I’m glad I have such good experiences otherwise in the gym. The trainer I see on Fridays is really awesome and never makes me feel like I’m a slob. And the rest of the staff is really cool. But Pig Tail Trainer made me feel about six inches tall and that’s not cool.

Next week, maybe I’ll take the class again and sit on her.

2 responses to “It came from Planet Barbie

  1. I’m on a weight loss journey myself. In my 3rd week, down 11 pounds and 2 pant sizes. Weigh in day is tomorrow.

    I’m terrified of gyms. Too many people in there and I’ll be positive they are all laughing at me.

    I’m doing exercise DVDs in my living room 5 days a week. I’m currently in love with George Foreman’s Circuit Walk DVD.

  2. LOL!! I know what you are saying. There are one two many 30 yr olds sporting that pigtail in the one I go to in Va. But the phony guys seem to eat it up. Thoses pigtails are holding their brains in!!!! I have been a memebr for almost 2 years. i worked with the house trainer who is a wonderful person, lets call him P. He is a big help to everyone he meets, if you are willing to do the work. I workout 5 days a week, no real problems to speak of once you get to know how the people are, you can pick and choose when you go in and who you talk to. I finally learned not all the men who talk to you and smile at you really like you. So I doubt I will ever look at a man in the gym quite the same way after all the bs I have been going thru. Good luck, don’t give up on yourself.

Leave a Reply

