Hump Day Hmmmm 11/21/2007

Today’s Hump Day Hmmmer is about music and what it means in your life. Being a musician, you’d think that this topic would be a total slam dunk. But since music is such an important part of my life, it’s hard to sit down and talk about it. Kind of like explaining the Holy Trinity in fifty words or less. Not gonna happen.

For those of you who do not know, I play the cello. I would consider myself an advanced hobbyist. Not professional level by any means, but can more than hold my own in the community orchestra and church performances. My relationship with music has changed over the years. Growing up, it was an all or nothing relationship. When I couldn’t play at the level I wanted to play at, I put it down and walked away. Now, music is an old friend, someone I can just be myself with.

Since I am classically trained, you’d think that the soundtrack to my life would be classical. Sure, there are some classics there. Some of my all time favorite works are Pictures at an Exhibition, by Mussorgsky, Kol Nideri, by Bruch, Lt. Kije, by Prokofiev, and the Dvorak Cello Concerto. But my personal anthem is a different type of classical. Classic Rock, to be exact.

Free Will, by Rush is my personal anthem. It’s actually the only Rush song that I like. I didn’t listen to much rock before I married Spouse, and he introduced me to Rush along with all of the others. Geddy Lee’s voice is the one of the most annoying sounds on the planet. But when I actually read the lyrics of Free Will, I was just amazed. It was at a time in my life when I was making a lot of decisions that would affect the course of my life for years to come. It was a wake up call to me to not take these decisions lightly or for granted.

Here are the lyrics:

There are those who think that life is nothing left to chance
A host of holy horrors to direct our aimless dance.

A planet of playthings,
We dance on the strings
Of powers we cannot perceive.
“The stars aren’t aligned
Or the gods are malign
“Blame is better to give than receive.

You can choose a ready guide in some celestial voice.
If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
You can choose from phantom fears and kindness that can kill
I will choose a path that’s clear
I will choose free will.

There are those who think that they were dealt a losing hand,
The cards were stacked against them
They weren’t born in lotus land.
All preordained
A prisoner in chains
A victim of venomous fate.
Kicked in the face,
You can pray for a place
In heaven’s unearthly estate.

You can choose a ready guide in some celestial voice.
If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
You can choose from phantom fears and kindness that can kill
I will choose a path that’s clear I will choose free will.

Each of us
A cell of awareness
Imperfect and incomplete.
Genetic blends
With uncertain ends
On a fortune hunt that’s far too fleet.

You can choose a ready guide in some celestial voice.
If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
You can choose from phantom fears and kindness that can kill
I will choose a path that’s clear I will choose free will.

(lyrics from lyrics.ovory.org)

Good stuff, no? It still rings true for me today. As my children get older (ok, so that’s a Fleetwood Mac thing), I have to start thinking about what I am doing next. In fact, that is a large part of why I started blogging in the first place. If I am not an active participant in the forces that shape my life, they will shape themselves for me. And I probably won’t like the result.

Which brings me back to my cello. Taking up the cello again was the first step I made toward my post-motherhood existence. It has given me confidence to try new things like stock trading. It gives me an active role in my church, which brings me closer to God. Now that I am not trying to make music my life, it is what holds my life together.

4 responses to “Hump Day Hmmmm 11/21/2007

  1. Prokofiev! Dvorak’s Cello Concerto! These are a few that have stayed with me.

    I had never been a Rush fan but those are lovely lyrics.

    And had I known about your whereabouts I’d have invited you to join me and The Journey’s Kyla for lunch!

    Julie
    Using My Words

  2. A cellist! I took cello lessons for a semester in college – just to understand what it was like to play a stringed instrument. It’s a lovely sound.

  3. I like that last line. Very eloquent.
    And Free Will… nothing like hearing/seeing (well, from very afar) Rush sing that live. Now I’ve got the song in my head!!!

  4. Okay, so your hump day is kind of like what I just tagged you for. But it will help with NaBloPoMo.

    You’re it!

Leave a Reply

