Thursday Thirteen, Entropy Edition…

2007 is the year that the forces of entropy took over my home. Here are the thirteen things that have either been replaced or are in need of replacing/repair:

1. My car. I used to drive a 2003 Ford Explorer until some of the electrical stuff started to get wonky. Now I drive a Mazda CX-7 and it is WONDERFUL.

2. My oven. I replaced the control panel in April for the second time in nine years.

3. My kitchen faucet. Drip, drip, drip. Replaced in November.

4. My microwave. The display was going wonky until Spouse reset it. Now it is blank unless you are actually cooking. (Note to Spouse who is out of town right now: micro is on the fritz again)

5. My master bath toilet seat. The stupid thing just cracked. Replaced in October.

6. My dishwasher. The brains just fried. Now I’m awaiting a part. Warranty? I wish.

7. My clothes dryer. The motor fried. Replaced in October.

8. My pre-lit Christmas tree. And I was all set to give it a Best Things Ever post, but there were two strings of lights out. Spouse was able to get one string working, but not the other. So that side is facing the wall.

9. My fence. Several boards are rotting and in need of replacing.

10. My back door. The casing and the door itself have areas of rot. Discovered this on Sunday.

11. My exterior paint. The paint is starting to peel. I’m in the process of getting recommendations for painters. Maybe I can get a contractor who can take care of the door at the same time.

12. My cutlery. I have amazing disappearing spoons. Seriously. There are only two small spoons left. We started with eight. WTF?

13. My window to the right of the fireplace. Thing 1 wasn’t paying attention and he slammed it down, breaking it in the process. Replaced in September.

So there ya go. If this isn’t a classic example of entropy run amok, I don’t know what is. Happy TT everyone! If you want to see more TT’s, or want to play along, click here and here.

9 responses to “Thursday Thirteen, Entropy Edition…

  1. When you figure out where the missing cutlery is, let me know LOL We have the same problem in our house. Happy Holidays!

  2. Hope you won’t have so many things to fix next year 🙂

  3. I think it’s a machine revolt!!!

    My TV, three computers and Mr. Coffee have decided to go on vacation. I’m sooooo tempted to toss them all out the window. 🙂

    My Thursday Thirteen: 13 men who give me impure thoughts

  4. My gosh! What a list. And the microwave waits until your husband leaves town…like a naughty child waiting for the chance behind the parent’s back LOL.

    Hopefully that’s it!

    This is why I really don’t like computer paneled appliances.

    Julie
    Using My Words

  5. Regarding your Xmas tree, you have to get the Lightkeeper Pro. It has saved many light string for me! I have a post on it somewhere… here!

  6. Sometimes I feelo like this too. I have a problem with kettles – I’m on my fourth in less than four years.

  7. Disorder makes the world go round!

    A cracked toilet seat can deliver some nasty pinches. I know from experience!

  8. hmmm. maybe your spoons ran away with our forks…

  9. Hmmm — I thought I had problems until I read YOUR list. All of a sudden I’m grateful for my short list … though the leaky faucets are driving me NUTS and no one seems able to fix the darn things. I “catch” the water and use it in garden, but I’m tired of carrying water downstairs for any reason. I’m glad your problems are solved, and wish you a trouble free 2008.
    Hugs and blessings,

Leave a Reply

