We’re better looking than Bob Hope…

Whew. Glad THAT’S over.

Just got back from my concert at Ft. Hood. This is always a hard concert for me. I always leave it disliking our current administration more than I already do. Howze Auditorium was standing room only, so I’m thinking it was about 1200 people. Lots of families with small children, so that was a little distracting. But that’s ok, since I don’t think it was one of our stronger performances and the kids were enough of a distraction that people probably wouldn’t have noticed too much. Anyway, the military families are such a grateful audience that I really enjoy playing for them.

It’s so hard to look at these families though. The way that this administration seems willing to put their lives in danger for some misguided strategy makes me ill. Our announcer made a very nice speech about how we are grateful to them for protecting our freedoms and all of that. I am grateful to them, but I don’t believe that their current use is protecting our freedoms. I’m not entirely sure why they are there. I’m so afraid that some of these children will not have a parent because our policy seems so untenable.

We could have all kinds of heated discussions about this I’m sure. I don’t know what to make of the policy. But I do know that these kids deserve a lot more than a concert and they aren’t getting it. I keep hearing things about the GI bill education benefits not being able to cover tuition costs and substandard care at medical facilities. Our church had a drive earlier this year to send the troops basic toiletries. You know, toothpaste and stuff. These guys are out in the field, and this administration can’t even supply them with freakin’ toothpaste.

It’s late. I’m tired. But I needed to brain dump. Keep the troops in your prayers, and pray that the Powers That Be get a clue.

5 responses to “We’re better looking than Bob Hope…

  1. You are absolutely right. No matter what they have been told, they are not “over there” to protect our freedoms. They were sent over there to take part in an illegal war which was cooked up as part of an economic imperialism. Keeping them there is exploitative and a betrayal.

  2. Melissa, I can only imagine how emotional that can be, doing that, for all the reasons you listed.

    Still, it was great you guys did the performance, which was clearly popular.

    Julie
    Using My Words

  3. You’re so right…so so right. I’m reminded by talking to my students, too, because so many of the folks in the team really didn’t have much other choice.

  4. Thank you for performing and for speaking out. It is sad that too few people, including especially our elected officials, have the courage to try to change things.

    I’m involved in a small concert in January to raise money to send stuff like toothpaste to the troops. It is very sad. Perhaps we should be playing at impeachment rallies.

  5. “I am grateful to them, but I don’t believe that their current use is protecting our freedoms.

    Amen!

    I spent 8 years in the Marines, and I see this war as illegal, immoral, and a blatant exploitation of the American people, the Iraqi people, and a waste & betrayal of our service men and women… but I won’t pull out my soapbox.

    Did I ever tell you that I envy your cello playing?

    When I was a kid, I wanted to be a cellist.

Leave a Reply

