Humpday Hmmmm 12/12/07

Definitions of pet peeve on the Web:

*an opportunity for complaint that is seldom missed; “grammatical mistakes are his pet peeve” wordnet.princeton.edu/perl/webwn

*A pet peeve (or pet hate) is a minor annoyance that can instill extreme frustration in an individual. Typically each person has several pet peeves that aggravate her or him more than the average person. Another person may not react as negatively or at all to the same circumstance. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pet peeve

*Pet Peeve is the twenty-ninth book of the Xanth series by Piers Anthony. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pet Peeve (wow…I lost track of this series at about 15…AGE 15 that is…)

Ok, so now we know what we’re dealing with here. Do I have pet peeves? Oh yeah, I seldom miss an opportunity to complain. Here are a few that really chap my bottom right now:

Televisions in restaurants. I.HATE.THEM. I cannot describe to you the depth of passion I have on this subject. Especially when I have my kids with me. I’m trying to teach them good manners and dinner conversation skills, which is well nigh impossible with some visual stimulation in the background. Even more annoying is the fact that there is usually no SOUND that accompanies the TV because the restaurant in question is so loud. So, instead of a nice time with my family, I end up squawking at my kids to stop staring slack jawed at the commercials and pay attention to the family fergoshsakes!. Spouse’s pet peeve in this area? My squawking.

Not talking about the book at book club. Ok, this one gets a qualifier. Sometimes, there just isn’t much to talk about. If we all liked the book, it can be a pretty short discussion and then we digress. But this past month we read Middlesex, and I was hoping to get some discussion, especially since one of the women married into a Greek family and is from Detroit so her insights would have been great. But no. We ended up talking about being pregnant and breastfeeding and sleep schedules. I don’t go to book club for that. Been there, done that, and already gave the t-shirt away to Goodwill.

People who don’t shut me up when I start talking about my kids. Seriously. I wish they would, instead of getting that glassy eyed look and then I have to take the social cue that I’m usually too narcissistic to catch. I have many more interesting things to talk about. Really!

The inability of the male members of my household to close kitchen cabinet doors. This is balanced by the inability of the female member to put things back into same.

People who cannot follow traffic signs. I’m not talking about the major ones like lights and stuff. Those are dangerous. I’m talking about the courtesy ones you see in parking lots and such. Going the wrong way through an aisle in the lot sends me into next week. And the latest? There is a sign at the elementary school saying no left turn from the drop off line back into traffic. Some people in this neighborhood think that the rules don’t apply to them and they do it anyway, munging up the works. Grrr…and the number of them with massive SUV’s is disproportionate to the number of total drivers.

Blogger. Between the POS text editor and the new comment policy, I am really peeved. But I’m also cheap, so here I stay for now. Dammit.

There ya go. Those are the big ones for me. So, besides a flame three feet high, what chaps your bottom? Join the fun at Using My Words!

Tomorrow: Thursday Thirteen, Duran Duran edition

4 responses to “Humpday Hmmmm 12/12/07

  1. Amen to televisions in restaurants and men lacking the ability to close doors. I add: refill what they emptied and turn off what they turned on, too.

    I don’t think I can shut up a person talking about kids. It’s mainly because I do it too, and maybe worse. 😉

    Julie
    Using My Words

  2. There’s a blogger work around – something in “blogger in draft” – you can change a setting on your blog…

    Does any book club talk about the books? Mine doesn’t either.

  3. I hate the blogger commenting as well and there are other plugins that you can use for comments, which I may check out in the future. But I have to admit that we once went to a restaurant with tiny flat screen TVs in the booth and it totally saved our sanity with our kids that night. Maybe it was because it was the last day of vacation.

  4. B @ My Other Blog

    I have to agree with most of yours (the cabinet thing is not an issue here) but really, the last two are two of my top ones. That’s why I moved to wordpress. I was loyal to Blogger for a long time and finally just couldn’t take it anymore. And the driving thing…if my kid learns bad words, it’s going to be from someone driving against a courtesy rule, I swear.
    B

Leave a Reply

