Thursday Thirteen, Redux Edition

Greetings all! Last week, Nicholas’ theme was Thirteen Things that are better than the original. And it got me to thinking. What things do I know that are better than the original? There weren’t many, but I did manage to come up with Thirteen Covers that are better than the original. You may disagree with me, but it’s my list so there. I am having some technical difficulties trying to get MP3’s attached so I gave up. You’ll just have to take my word for it.

1. MacArthur Park. Donna Summer version is better than the Richard Harris version. But that isn’t saying much. And sadly, this is the second time I have referenced that song in my blog.

2. Always Something There to Remind Me. Naked Eyes infinitely better than Dionne Warwick.

3. I’m a Believer. Smash Mouth is better than the Monkees.

4. Live and Let Die. Sorry all you fans of Sir Paul, but the Guns and Roses version is better.

5. Shameless. Garth Brooks is better than Billy Joel. How it pains me to say that, but it is true.

6. Big Yellow Taxi. Counting Crows is as good as Joni Mitchell.

7. Sweet Jane. Cowboy Junkies are far superior to Velvet Underground. Sorry.

8. Hazy Shade of Winter. The Bangles are better than Simon and Garfunkel.

9. Hurt. Johnny Cash hits this one out of the park. Trent Reznor, not so much.

10. Mustang Sally. The Commitments are better than Mack Rice or Wilson Pickett.

11. (All I have to do is) Dream. This one is obscure, but The Nylons do a fabulous cover of this Everly Brothers classic.

12. The Road Goes on Forever. Robert Earl Keen is good, but Joe Ely is better. But they’re in a band together, so it’s all good.

13. Black Magic Woman. Santana defines this song. Fleetwood Who?

And there you have it. Your mileage may vary. Disagree? Then let’s take this to the comments section like civilized bloggers.

Do you have a Thursday Thirteen? Play along here.

18 responses to “Thursday Thirteen, Redux Edition

  1. I agree with you, though I do wish MacArthur Park made some kind of sense to me. Cakes and rain? Hmmm….

  2. “Sweet Jane” by the Cowboy Junkies may be my all time favorite cover. I was just listening to that album tonight, as a matter of fact.

  3. I was a total Nylons addict back in the late 80’s, Bangles too. And don’t forget Nat King Cole’s Christmas Song over Mel Torme (since it’s that time of year).

  4. This is just obscene! Only Richard Harris doing McArthur Park, and to replace Sir Paul? What is this younger generation coming to?

    Oh the pain!

    LOL
    The Pink Flamingo

  5. I totally agree with #s 2, 3, 4, 6& 13! :o)

  6. I’m not familiar with any of the ones you prefer, but since Richard Harris’s MacArthur Park was one of the worst records ever made in the history of the galaxy, I can easily believe that Donna Summer’s was better!

  7. I agree with your choices! I love the Cowboy Junkies version of Sweet Jane.

  8. Heh. I prefer all the original versions for every one of these, with the proviso that “Black Magic Woman” IS Santana.

    13 Unresolved Issues from 2007

  9. Fabulous song list.

    I have a hard time agreeing about Joni Mitchell though LOL.

    Julie
    Using My Words

  10. Good call on “MacArthur Park”. Although Richard Harris’ version sucks, Donna’s isn’t all that better. I think it’s the song itself because even the version by The Four Tops is only passable.

    Dionne Warwick’s version of “Always Something There to Remind Me” is actually a remake too. It was first done by a guy named Lou Johnson and was later a hit for Sandie Shaw in 1964. As for Naked Eyes, I always liked “Promises Promises” and “When the Lights Go Out” better than their version of “Always Something There to Remind Me.”

    I am with you on the Bangles vs. Simon and Garfunkel. Although I like the orig., the Bangles definitely “rocked it up”.

    Preferring the Committments over Sir Mack Rice and the Wicked Pickett is plain blasphemy. 🙂
    At least you didn’t say that Michael Bolton’s version of “Dock of the Bay” was better than the orig. by Otis Redding.

    Even though I know it’s a remake, I consider “Black Magic Woman” a Santana song. Although I have never heard the orig., I can’t imagine it being better than Santana.

    This was a fun TT. My apologies for being so long winded (you can tell I love music, right, lol). Sorry to hear that you had problems uploading the mp3s because there are some instances where I am not familiar with both versions.

  11. My score from your list is 4:4:5. 4 songs I like the original better(#2,4,6 and 10), 4 songs I like the cover better (1,3,8, and 13) and 5 I never heard of or only know one version.

    Thanks for visiting my Thursday Thirteen #63 13 Celebrity Births in 2007.

  12. I totally agree on 3 but i like Fleetwood Mac

  13. I only agree with #9!

  14. Those were great…kudos to you for knowing all the remakes, and it was a very telling list… you are obviously quite the music afficionado. That whole Naked Eyes album is in my pores… I listened to that almost everyday the year it came out. Cowboy Junkies and Sweet Jane… exactly. And the Nylons … are you sure you’re not Canadian, at least part of you, eh?
    Happy New year to you and your family, BTW!

  15. I agree with ALL but #6. Not too shabby for such a HARD 13. Nicely played!

  16. 1. MacArthur Park. Donna Summer

    I love this! A true staple of the disco era.

    2. Always Something There to Remind Me. Naked Eyes

    I prefer Dionne.

    3. I’m a Believer. Smash Mouth is better than the Monkees.

    I dunno… SmashMouth’s cover sort of irritates me. It’s one of those songs that should have just been left alone.

    4. Live and Let Die. Guns and Roses

    Agreed

    8. Hazy Shade of Winter. The Bangles.

    Agreed

    9. Hurt. Johnny Cash hits this one out of the park.

    Amen, Sister!

    10. Mustang Sally. The Commitments are better than Mack Rice or Wilson Pickett.

    I’d have to call a tie here… I love the Commitments, but better than Wilson Pickett? Hm.

    13. Black Magic Woman. Santana defines this song. Fleetwood Who?

    Oh yeah.

  17. You’re missing one. Ike and Tina Turner’s Proud Mary is so good people forget that CCR Recorded it first!

  18. I love this. I love covers. I wish you had been able to figure out how to include the mp3s (both for this post, and because I want to know how too!).

Leave a Reply

