Political Haiku

Happy Hai-day everyone! As my faithful readers, all two of you, know, I really like Haiku Friday. I’ve decided to go a little political this week to commemorate last night’s Iowa Caucus. I don’t usually wax political, or even serious, on this blog, but something tells me that this is the first of these types of posts. Anyway, if you find this Haiku lacking, or it just whets your appetite for more, try here.

Iowa Caucus
It is finally over.
Want to care, but don’t.

Am educated.
Used to be political.
Worshipped Ann Richards.

Wonder what happened
To make me apathetic?
Or maybe I’m not.

Could be just weary?
After all, this race started
In 2004.

Discouraged, perhaps?
The election of ‘06
Did not change a thing.

I think I’m just sad.
The choices available
Do not inspire.

A long way to go
Before all is decided.
Only time will tell.

After New Hampshire
The field will start to thin out.
Easier choice then.

We need a leader.
Not a follower of polls.
Someone with courage.

I can only hope
That this crop of candidates
Gives us the right one.

Must shake off ennui.
Do research and read some more.
Then get out and vote.

Not a thing can change
If I do not get involved.
The same goes for you.

16 responses to “Political Haiku

  1. suchsimplepleasures

    i don’t even know who the lesser of all the evils are. i’m not political, either…don’t even pretend to be but…scary group, our choice is!
    i think your haiku was awesome!

  2. secret agent mama

    It’s the year of politics, eh? Great haiku to kick it off!

    Happy Haiku Friday!

  3. Yup, politics was never my thing but I agree about your statement that we need a leader and not a follower of polls. Sad. Good Ku though.

  4. i’m with you on the ennui.

    plus i’m not happy with any of the choices, frankly.

    sigh. i guess that means i should do something instead of complaining about it.

  5. Very much enjoyed these today!
    And thanks for reminding me old, FABulous Ann Richards!

    “Poor Georgie…he can’t help he was born with a silver foot in his mouth!” :oD

  6. Wow, amazing kus! I’m so with you on this. Excellent job.

  7. I think people on both ends of the spectrum, and those in the middle can really relate to the same feelings of *yawning*.

    I’m waiting to be inspired.

    Great Haiku.

  8. I wish I was more political, but I feel very much like my vote doesn’t matter.

  9. AnGlOpHiLe FoOtBaLl FaNaTiC

    I’m following pretty closely, but my guy is not getting much love, nor do I think he stands a chance. Thinking we must be political opposites though, as I voted against Ann.

  10. Politics are so discouraging to me. It seems that no matter how pure a politicians intentions are to start they all become corrupt with agenda.
    I with John McCain was doing better in the polls. He seems to be the only one who could bring both Rep. and Dem. together since he usually doesn’t do things simply because it is Rep.. It seems he does what he thinks is right.
    I guess time will tell.
    Great haiku.

  11. My favorite doesn’t seem to stand a chance and I find myself indifferent lately. I need to research a little more as well.

    Great haiku!

  12. Happy New Year Haiku Queen. That was a good one!

  13. Wonderful Haiku as always, and timely subject matter. Everyone’s talking about “change” but who’s likely to actually BE different if elected … therein lies the rub.

    I took the Haiku plunge yesterday and posted one on each of my blogs. What fun! I think I’ll make it a weekly habit like you.
    Hugs and blessings,

  14. AnGlOpHiLe FoOtBaLl FaNaTiC

    Forgot to mention I’m SOOO impressed at you attempting the deeper CS Lewis. He gives me a headache if it isn’t Narnia. Too much philosophy!

  15. Take heart, M!

    The election of ’06 was the beiginning of change… if we can have a working majority in the Senate in ’08, WITHOUT and obstructionist in the White House, THEN we can get things done.

    My main man, Dennis Kucinich isn’t getting the attention he deserves, but that doesn’t mean I will quit on him.

    Confusion to the enemy!

    GF

  16. I am interested in politics, and I’m ok with most of the remaining Democrats. I do find Obama inspiring and Clinton tolerable. I favored Kucinich early on because he was the only candidate to speak at the large “out-of-Iraq” anti-war rally my daughter and I attended in DC a year ago.
    Votes, demonstrations, speaking out, and blog thoughts do make a difference.

Leave a Reply

