Humpday Hmmmm 1/9/08

The Hump Day Hmmmm is back! Long live Hump Day Hmmmm!

Today’s topic, so thoughtfully provided by Julie at Using My Words, is someone who has inspired you.

That’s easy. My maternal grandmother.

Mary Louise Sanchez Moye was a huge influence on my life. I was lucky enough to get to know her while I was an adult and I got to see her as a complete individual. She told me about her life, what she was proud of, what she wasn’t proud of, and everything in between. She was a nurse who managed to get a Master’s degree in the early sixties while raising three kids and a deadbeat first husband. She was the force that held her family together.

She was a class act in every sense of the word. She dressed for every occasion. She laughed louder than everyone, cried with you, helped you, supported you, and celebrated with you. No one was happier when I had my children than she was.

I miss her terribly. It was only recently that I took her obituary and the eulogy I wrote off of my corkboard and put it away. I think about her everyday. When I have trouble getting through something, I ask myself what she would do. And to top it off, I look just like her.

To finish, I am going to share with you the eulogy I gave. I was incredibly honored that the entire family asked me to do this, that they thought I was the one who could best express what she meant to all of us. To be honest, I broke down about three-fourths of the way through and someone had to finish it for me. But, reading it again after a time, it reminds me once again of how much she meant to me.

*******************

I always had a good relationship with my grandmother, but I was really lucky that we had the chance to get closer when I was an adult. We became much closer after I had children and my family moved to Austin about 7 years ago (ed note, she lived in San Antonio). Grandma Lou came to visit just as often as she could, which was a great help to me as a young mother of two wonderfully active little boys. Once, while my husband was away on an extended business trip, she made one of her visits. After seeing how stressed out I was, she insisted, rather forcefully I might add, that I go out shopping and get a manicure. Well, far be it for me to disagree with my elders…

But I could always count on her to be there for me and my family and we appreciated that very much.

Grandma Lou seemed to enjoy the boys just being boys, something they are quite good at by the way. And I know the boys enjoyed being with her, too. As her health declined, and her visits became less frequent, the boys expressed concern for her and let me know how much they missed her. One of our last visits was in August, and it was absolutely fantastic! We went to the McNay Art Museum and explored the grounds. Then we had a nice lunch, followed by a swim. The boys have fond memories of that day as do I.

But perhaps one of the most poignant memories I have came from a visit when Thing 2 was about 2. Grandma Lou was holding Thing 2 and she looked right into his eyes and asked him “Will you remember me when you are older?”

Well, I can answer that for you, Grandma Lou. Yes he will. Both Thing 1 and Thing 2 will remember you through our stories and pictures and memories. You will never be far away since you are still in our hearts.

So, thank you Grandma Lou, for being such a great part of our lives. We love you and will miss you with all of our hearts.

************************

Well, I was hoping I could type without breaking into tears, but I was wrong.
Who has been a great influence on your life? To read more, or better yet, play along, check out Using My Words.
4 responses to “Humpday Hmmmm 1/9/08

  1. That was gorgeous. It really brought tears to my eyes.
    I don’t know if I am up to this challenge. I would love to write about my mom but I just don’t know if I can do her justice in words.
    You have done a beautiful job. I really “felt the love” as Julie put it.

  2. lovely. just lovely. these little things mean the most.

  3. That’s beautiful. She sounds like such an incredible person. It’s awesome you had her in your life, and I’m sure you’ll always feel a little loss of her, but how wonderful to celebrate all you had while she was here.

    I felt the love, too. 🙂

  4. Grandmas aren’t so important, aren’t they? Sounds like you had a special one.

Leave a Reply

