Daily Archives: January 17, 2008

Thursday Thirteen, Page Turner Edition

Greetings all! Did you miss me last week? Wait, are those crickets chirping in the background? No, matter. This week’s Thursday Thirteen is a list of books I’d like to read this year. Not that these are the only books I’ll read this year (in fact,my club selections for the rest of the year aren’t even on it), but these are ones that I’m going to go out of my way to get. And, ahem, if someone who knows me (cough *spouse*) happens to read this list, they might have a line on a bday present. I’m just sayin….

These are in no particular order, except as to how they came to mind. If you have any suggestions to add to this list, please feel free to add them in the comments section. Yes, another blatant attempt at comments, but not as blatant as here.

1. Atlantis, Harry Turtledove

I love alternative history, and the plot synopsis looks fabulous.

2. Christ the Lord: Road to Cana, Anne Rice

This doesn’t come out for a few more weeks, but I’m looking forward to it. The book club that I lead at my church just read the first in the series, Out of Egypt. Just because she isn’t writing about sexually ambiguous vampires anymore doesn’t mean she’s lost her edge. This series has the potential to be as great as her others.

3. World Without End, Ken Follett

They are calling this a sequel to Pillars of the Earth, but I’m not sure I would exactly call it that. But Follett is a great story teller and I enjoy all of his stuff.

4. God is Not Great, Christopher Hitchens

His columns in Slate always get me to think. And I’m always fascinated by what people will do in the name of religion. So this should be interesting. Besides, minds are like parachutes, right?

5. The Invention of Hugo Cabret, Brian Selznik

Yep, kid lit. But I have a special interest in that genre. Ya wanna make something of it?

6. Einstein: His Life and Universe, Walter Issacson

Aside from the fact he is arguably one of the greatest minds ever, Einstein seems like a fascinating individual. And Issacson is a gifted biographer.

7. The Abstinence Teacher, Tom Perrotta

This comes as a suggestion from Julie at Using My Words. It looks like a lot of fun, so I’ll give it a shot.

8. and 9. Bel Canto and Run, Ann Patchett

A little bit of joining the bandwagon here. I keep hearing great things about her, so I think it’s time to check her out.

10. Telephone Gambit: Chasing Alexander Graham Bells’ Secret, Seth Shulman

I saw a review for this in the Wall Street Journal yesterday and it looked very interesting.

11. Motorworld, Jeremy Clarkson

I’ve already read The World According to Clarkson, and that was a fun read. He’s a great humorist and just plain fun.

12. The Post Birthday World, Lionel Shriver

Ummm, honestly, not sure where this idea came from. I have a list of books in my Treo that I keep and this was on it. Still looks good though.

13. Boomsday, Christopher Buckley

He’s a recent discovery for me. I loved Thank you For Smoking and Florence of Arabia. I can’t imagine this one being any less than that.

So there ya go. What I would like to read this year. Do you have a reading wish list? What’s your TT? Play along here!