Guilty Pleasures 3

We all have those things that we are embarrassed to admit that we like. Things that cultured, well educated people shouldn’t like. But we do, and, if you are like me, are a bit sheepish about them. So here is the third of my many guilty pleasures posts.

(places paper bag over head)

Veggie Tales

“If you like to talk to tomatoes,
If a squash can make you smile,
If you like to waltz with potatoes,
Up and down the produce aisle…

Have we got a show for you!”

Veggie tales theme.

Yup. Veggie Tales. If you do not have children under the age of 12, you probably have missed out on this. And believe me, you have missed out. I mean, TALKING CGI VEGETABLES! Doing very silly things. Riffing on Monty Python and Star Trek, and Indiana Jones, and Gunsmoke, just to name a few. And all in the name of introducing Bible stories and morality lessons to young children. It’s fun! It’s wholesome! It’s SILLY!

The Veggie Tales crew are headed up by Bob the Tomato and Larry the Cucumber. In the television shows, Bob and Larry host each episode from a counter top in a kitchen. They start out with a letter from a kid asking about some moral or ethical question, then follow up with two shorts about dealing with it. Usually, one of the shorts will be the retelling of a well known Bible story. In between, there is a silly musical interlude. We then wrap up with an applicable Bible verse. Thirty minutes of fun. There are also two full length feature films (one currently in theaters), a few hour long Christmas and Easter specials, and a few direct to DVD movies to their credit.

Other major characters in the VT universe are Archibald Asparagus, Junior Asparagus (who was NOT in the new movie, much to my chagrin), Pa Grape, Mr. Lundt, Jimmy and Jerry Gourd, Nebby K. Nezzer, and the taunting French Peas. And of course, we can’t forget Larry the Cucumber’s alter ego, Larry Boy, with his super suction ears!

It’s been a while since we’ve seriously watched Veggie Tales as my guys are getting a little older, but we did go and see the new movie, The Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything, on Saturday. Great fun and a good message. Actually, a couple of messages. Anyway, Veggie Tales is a fun alternative to a lot of kid entertainment out there. If you have a little one in the under 8 set, be sure and check them out!

I’ve attached videos of two of my favorites, Song of the Cebu and Dance of the Cucumber. And, in honor of the movie, The Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything. For more general info, check out BigIdea.

4 responses to “Guilty Pleasures 3

  1. How can you not like Veggie Tales?

    Taking the kids to The Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything today. Pray for me.

  2. I used to love Veggie Tales. I still do sometimes. But I have to hide them from the kids and have strict rules about when we can watch them. If I don’t, I could go insane from the silly songs floating in my head all day long. Where is my hairbrush…?

    Really, they are great videos. We inherited all of the old ones from my youngest sis-in-law, and my boys love them.

  3. The Cheeseburger ballad? Flippin’ GENIUS.

    Dude, i love the Veggie Tales so much it burns. And I’m an athiest. It’s THAT good. 🙂

  4. I’ve never seen the show, but hubs took the kids to the movie (the title cracks me up) and they had a great time! It sounds like I’d be hooked too!

Leave a Reply

