Thursday Thirteen, Well Lit Edition

Greetings all! Well, it’s the middle of the night and I’ve woken up again. Sigh. I usually remedy this by going downstairs, getting a glass of milk, and watching something on Discovery Home or Fox Soccer. (I don’t want to read anything as the goal here is to fall back asleep) But as I was approaching the stairs, I noticed, not for the first time mind you, that I didn’t need to turn on any lights for safety because of the glow coming from our gameroom. Being in need of some blog fodder, I went and checked it out and there are, you guessed it, THIRTEEN LEDs glowing in that room. Amazing. Here they are, moving counterclockwise:

1. Smoke Detector

2. Cable Modem on top of bookcase

3. Wireless router next to cable modem

4. Surge protector for cable modem and router

5. Television set

6. Gaming System

7. Printer/Fax/Copier

8. Speaker for kid’s computer

9. Monitor for kid’s computer

10. Kid’s computer

11. Keyboard for kid’s computer

12. Surge protector for kid’s stuff

13. My laptop, plugged in for charging.

I’m just kind of boggled here. And yes, the waste of energy is occurring to me as I type this. I’m wondering which ones I can do anything about. I think the only ones I can really take care of are the ones related to the kid’s computer. Those are on standby as that computer is the print server in the house. But we don’t need to print in the middle of the night very often. The TV and gaming system just glow to show they are connected, and their surge protector (not listed because it is hidden from view) is pretty awkward to get to. And we can’t really turn off the modem and router. Same goes for the smoke detector. But that’s a lot of LEDs for such a small area.

So, there’s my TT for the week. What’s yours? If you want to read more, or join in, try here.

13 responses to “Thursday Thirteen, Well Lit Edition

  1. Sandee (Comedy +)

    That’s some night lights you have going there. I just never noticed. I’ll bet the next time I get up in the middle of the night I will go check on what we have glowing. Thanks a lot. Bwahahahahah. Have a great TT. 🙂

  2. I am obsessive about turning as many things completely off as I can, but within limits of convenience. I turn off the monitor and printer to the computer (but not the computer itself), and I turn the Wii off so that the LED is red and not amber (while it is on, hold the button down for 5 seconds). That way it doesn’t emit that blue glow from the slot saying “play me play me”. The cable modem and router and phone adapter do still blink continually as are the computer power and laptop charging LED and often the mouse wheel LED. At least I spread it out over several rooms so it doesn’t bug me!

  3. Amazing how much energy we use and don’t even realize it isn’t it?
    Great list for the middle of the night.
    Mine is a cilly list this week.

  4. Our Dish Network receiver glows like the eyes of the devil.

    Don’t even try to get on the couch in the middle of the night, because at approximately 3 a.m. it reboots or comes to life or something and makes the MOST hideous noise.

    Technology is supposed to might our lives better, right?

  5. Susan Helene Gottfried

    Wow, that’s a lot of glow. I was flying home from Yellowstone and wondering how much of the gorgeous dark we’d seen there could be preserved if we all turned off just one light.

    Seems like not much.

    Happy TT anyway. I guess it’s the price of progress, huh?

  6. It’s amazing how many things you start finding in sets of 13 when you look for it. Thanks for your visit!

  7. Hmmm … It was a public-service T-13 begging to be shared! Thanks.
    Hugs and blessings,

  8. suchsimplepleasures

    yeah, it’s a ton of wasted energy…that’s why our bills are so high, i’m sure!!
    have a great evening!

  9. Whoa! That’s a lot of glowing lights! Just the glow on my alarm clock annoys me in the dark….

    Great idea for a t-13!

  10. DoubleDeckerBusGuy

    Well, from an electrical standpoint, the LEDs are the least of your worries… the units on “Standby” are far worse electricity hogs… but sounds like the “warm glow” of technology is spread in your gameroom!

  11. I know, I know. I look around in the dark of night and I’m shocked.

  12. Wow, that was a lot of electricity. My husband would have had a heart attack had he walked in on that. LOL.

  13. Apparently, huge amounts of energy are wasted when people leave their appliances on stand-by rather than actually switching them off. I didn’t know that until recently, but now I seldom use stand-by mode for anything.

Leave a Reply

