LG Dishwasher Error Codes

Yes, that’s an odd title for a post. But I am responding to the many people each day who find their way to my site using that search string, or something very similar. So, for those unfortunate souls who have an LG dishwasher, and are looking for some answers, here’s what little I can do for you:

  • The error code we had was a “DE” , although it looked like a “OE” on the display. That means it is some sort of drain error. Our dishwasher simply stopped draining.
  • Replacing the control panel will not help. Sorry. Try to avoid this costly repair if you can.

That’s all I can think of. But here are links to some posts that I have regarding the saga of my dishwasher. (Regular readers of this site, please bear with me while I discuss this topic yet again. I need to perform this valuable public service.) These posts may not help you fix your dishwasher, but they are good for a small chuckle. Believe me, I do feel your pain.

An Open Letter to my LG Dishwasher
Dishwasher Haiku

I hope these helped you with some chuckles. I have just one more piece of advice for you: Buy American. 🙂

3 responses to “LG Dishwasher Error Codes

  1. You understand that bullet point on my list. I blame the computerised (what am I? Canadian? computeriZed) control panels.

    Knobs and buttons, babe, knobs and buttons. Things lasted back then.

    Sorry for your ongoing travails.

  2. We might be getting a new one some time… we’ll probably go with GE like our washing machine and dryer, which have been great so far. Quieter, faster, more energy efficient… better all around than what we had.

    That said, our glass stove top just cracked on our most used burner, so we’re having to figure out if it can be fixed or if we’ll be using three for a while until we can save up. Why couldn’t our appliances break down in groups so we could get that 20% off from Home Depot for multiple appliance purchases? Oh, well. We’re almost through replacing our original stuff, which was maybe three years old when we moved in…. so six years is pretty close to lifespan. And our A/C lasted about nine… I feel your pain.

  3. Well, due to Summertime’s blog, I realize that one reason a dishwasher may not be draining is due to plumbing. (summertime.blog-city.com) She has moved her blog, but you may still be able to email her about it. She bought a new dishwasher because her old one wouldn’t drain, but it ended up being the pipes. Your pipes behind the dishwasher may be clogged, and that may cause a drain error in your dishwasher? Anyway, it’s worth a try. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

