This is why I have no blog fodder…

Or, as Spouse has just put it, it is blog fodder in and of itself. I think it is his way of complaining about a few things that are, or are not as the case may be, going on around here.

Hi. My name is Melissa, and I’m over committed.

Hi, Melissa!

I’ve gone and done it again.

I didn’t mean to. It just sort of snuck up on me.

It was so gradual. You know, like that story of the frog in the frying pan? Have you heard that? See, if you throw a frog into an already hot frying pan, he will wisely jump out. But if you put him in a cold frying pan, and slowly turn up the heat, he will stay in there and become a delicacy.

Ribbit. Ribbit.

So here is the stuff I’ve got to deal with in the next few weeks:

1.Playing for a wedding on the 26th. Have I started practicing? As if.
2.Lead church book club discussion on the 30th. For a book that I don’t want to read. I mean seriously Do.Not.Want.To.Read. Shoot me.
3.Help kids get ready for QUEST presentations on 4/16 and 4/23.
4.Prepare for concert series weekend of 5/16. With extra rehearsals this and next Thursday.
5.Get stuff organized for set up and take down of VBS (hey Spouse, guess what?)

This is in addition to:

1.The normal crap that needs to get done around the house.
2.Taking on the leadership of the Women’s Ministry at my church. What was I thinking?!?!?!
3.Trying to sub at least two days per week.
4.The Spanish
5.Working out. Which I really need to get back on the stick about because some of the panic symptoms are resurfacing. After reviewing this list, is it any wonder?
6.Playing chauffeur for the kids.
7.Playing wife for the Spouse.
8.Trying to write blog content that might possibly be of interest to my two faithful readers.
9.Remember the book blog I wanted to do? Still trying.
10.Picking up another writing project.

I haven’t done this to myself in a while. But like I said, it just sort of crept up on me and now I have to slog through it all.

I really thought I had reformed. I was so good for a while. I would just reflexively say no, then if it was something that I was interested in, I would call back after having consulted my calendar.

Sigh.

But I guess all of this other crap in my head has pushed out anything that would be remotely interesting to write. Sorry. Maybe in a few weeks I’ll be fun again. But in the meantime, I’ll be going back to the mirror and practicing saying “No”.

Time to hop to it. Ribbit.

Leave a Reply

