Lynne Truss would be so proud…

Have you guys read Eats, Shoots, and Leaves by Lynne Truss? If you haven’t, I highly recommend it. It is freakin’ hysterical. Who knew grammar could be so funny? Anyway, she has a section in there (in the chapter called The Tractable Apostrophe) about punctuation vigilantes. How they would patrol the streets looking for improper punctuation and correct it with sharpies and white out.

Well, I think they’ve come to Austin:


I’m not sure you’ll be able to see it on the picture, but someone has scratched out the unnecessary apostrophe. Woot!

This sign has irked me for, well, quite some time. This is in the restroom of my regular grocery store and I think it has been up for about a year. I guess it irked someone even more, because they took matters into their own hands.

I applaud them and I may join them in the future.

What about you guys? Have you ever wanted to do this? Or have you actually joined the ranks of the punctuation police? Do tell!

Of course now I’m totally paranoid about the punctuation in my post. If I’ve made an error, please forgive me.

Leave a Reply

