Extremes in Customer Service

So today was a pretty crazy day. There was an accident on the only way into town from my house, which made it difficult to get to where we needed to go. The only thing that kept me from really losing it was keeping in mind that for people in four cars, their day was far worse. Those that would continue having days, that is.

Anyway as a result of all of this, I was running really late to an appointment for a security screen for the school district. And I had the directions wrong. So I grabbed the info sheet that I was to bring with me to try to call them and let them know what was going on.

There was no local number, only an 888 number. And this number kept sending me to perpetual voice mail with no option to speak to an actual person. I tried to call information, but the phone number was unlisted. WTF? I had absolutely no way to let them know what was going on and I missed my appointment. Not cool. Now I have to reschedule, and there is a time limit to this whole process. Grrr….I wouldn’t have been so frustrated if I had been able to find a local contact for the company to let them know what was going on. Their website is also very frustrating, with no way to verify your appointment time or get directions to your location easily. You’d think that if this was something that would be required they might make the process a little easier. But we’re from the government and we’re here to help you.

In an attempt to salvage some productivity from the day, I went to the county tax office to get the registration for my car (it totally slipped my mind so I had to go the office rather than the grocery store). So my hackles were up for dealing with another government agency.

Things did not start well. In the parking median next to where I parked, there was a pair of black lace crotchless panties. I don’t EVEN want to know about those….

Then I walk into the office. And it is clean, and well lit, and actually somewhat comfortable. The receptionist looks at all of my paperwork to make sure I have it so I don’t waste anyone’s time. Then she gives me a number that is tailored for what I need to do. Each station is clearly marked with their number and the number of the person they are helping. It took all of ten minutes for me to get my business taken care of.

What a HUGE difference. The tax office was so interested in making sure people got their business taken care of. The security place seemed to go out of their way to make sure that people would have as difficult time as possible to get their business done. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

