Pick Two

This seems to be the story of my life lately.

Some of you may get the reference, but for those who don’t, here’s the context:

Your (enter name of project here) can be done quickly, well, and under budget. Pick two.

Let’s start with the DIY. Ideally, I would have wanted a high quality project done quickly and cheaply. Well, of those three, cheap is not negotiable. So I’m doing it myself and it is taking me a while. But the other two parameters have been met and that’s cool. Even if it means I don’t finish before leaving town this week.

And then there’s daily life. Clean the house, run errands, and help the kids with their stuff. A car with good gas mileage, cargo capacity, and reasonably priced. Food (both eat out and home cooked) that is easy/fast, inexpensive, and healthy. Pick two.

Anyway, it just seems to me that lately I’m having to decide what is more important and just working with what I can the best I can. Some days it works, like the DIY. Others? Well, not so much. Sometimes that leftover third isn’t as negotiable as you would like to think and you end up having to compensate in other ways later on. Like if I always picked “clean house” over “help kids”, I’d have a fabulous house, but crappy kids. But I can’t always pick “help kids” either without being shut down by the board of health.

And how about this one? Read blogs, write my blog, go out and do something worth blogging about. Pick two. ‘Twas ever thus….

*******

A note to my 5000th visitor: Yes, I know who you are. And I know where you live. If you will admit to reading my blog by posting a comment I will send you some sort of something to be determined later. Probably something grandchild themed. And yes, I know I have royally embarrassed you, but hey! What else is a family for?

Leave a Reply

