There’s only one thing that smells like bacon*…

I’ve decided that I find the oddest things at grocery stores. No one else seems to find these things but me.

Today, while browsing through (and yes, I go to the store waaaay too much), I saw these in the pet aisle: ZenPuppy dog treats. Now, I am not a dog person, so it always amazes me what people will spend on their dogs. But anyway, these are HERBAL dog treats that are trans-fat free. Because we all know that when it comes to treats, the first thing your dog will think of is herbs. And keeping track of their trans-fat intake. The thing that really caught my attention was the graphic on each bag. Really cracked me up. Otherwise, I probably wouldn’t have noticed them. So I guess they did their job. ZenPuppy comes in four varieties:


For your crazy dog, get them the “Peace” ZenPuppy. Not sure if you can read it, but underneath it says “for wild, crazy, unruly dogs”. Check out the meditative stance of the pooch there. I wonder what kind of “herb” these are made out of…


If you dog is concerned about their appearance, get them the “Beauty” ZenPuppy. This will clear up their skin, make their coat nice and shiny, and get rid of that pesky doggy breath. But this dog looks like a ninja to me. What do you think?


If your dog’s get up and go has got up and gone, get him the “Senior” ZenPuppy. Again, I’m not sure I want to know what kind of “herb” gets used for this one. But this dog seems pretty perky, so I’m thinking it might work.


Finally, if your dog is a little clumsy, try the “Agile” ZenPuppy. Actually, this is supposed to help their hips and all, which I know can be a serious problem for dogs. So, I guess this is MSM for dogs, right? This poochie seems pretty spritely, so it might be worth a try.

So there ya go. Herbal remedies for your dog. Available at your local grocery store.

Stay tuned for more weird stuff I find there. They just totally renovated the store closest to me, so I’m bound to find all kinds of new, fun products.

Next up: Son of Greenbag!

*Do you remember that commercial? It was awesome! I think it was for Beggin’ Strips or something like that. Anyway, the dog was going crazy smelling bacon and he said, “There’s only one thing that smells like bacon and that’s BACON!” It’s a major joke in this house.

Leave a Reply

