I got your reading challenges right here!

So in the past two days, I have discovered a few fun reading challenges. The first one I found at my new friend Pink Asparagus. It is the 50 Book Challenge over at Shelfari. I used to have a Shelfari shelf on my blog, but it was messing with loading times and I’m all about the loading times so I took it down. But it’s a cool challenge nonetheless. Although I’m not sure if I can do 50, so I may do the 30 challenge, just to be realistic.

The second challenge I found over at transplantingme. This is the 1% Well Read Challenge. The goal here is to read ten books in ten months that are on the “1001 Books to Read Before You Die” list. I’ve gone over that list, and while I find it lacking in certain areas, there were a lot of books on it that I’ve always “meant to read”, so I’ll go ahead and join.

There’s a lot of synergy going on here. I can do two challenges at once! How cool is that?

Here is my initial list of books. The first ten all come from the “1001 Books” list. And all of them fell under that “meant to read category. The next group come from the books I mentioned in this post that I haven’t read yet this year.

Stranger in a Strange Land, Robert Heinlein
The Plot Against America, Phillip Roth
Saturday, Ian McEwan
Atonement, Ian McEwan
Everything is Illuminated, Jonathan Safran Foer
Unless, Carol Sheilds
The Corrections, Jonathan Franzen
City of God, EL Doctrow
Billy Bathgate, EL Doctrow
Vineland, Thomas Pynchon
Breakfast of Champions, Kurt Vonnegut
Christ the Lord: Road to Cana, Anne Rice
World Without End, Ken Follett
God is Not Great, Christopher Hitchens
The Invention of Hugo Cabret, Brian Selznik
Einstein: His Life and Universe, Walter Issacson
The Abstinence Teacher, Tom Perrotta
Telephone Gambit: Chasing Alexander Graham Bells’ Secret, Seth Shulman
Motorworld, Jeremy Clarkson
The Post Birthday World, Lionel Shriver
Water for Elephants, Sarah Gruen

So there’s my first twenty. Good thing I spend a good amount of time waiting for kids at stuff.

I’m also thinking that the next Virtual Book Club will come from this list. Yes, I still mean to do these. Summer has just gotten so busy. I’m actually thinking about Water for Elephants since that is the next book for my neighborhood book club and it would be all efficient like.

Off to the library and Half Price Books!

Leave a Reply

