It’s not about me.

This week’s Hum Day Hmm: what stunning realization has enlightened you recently or at some point in your life and caused you to take a turn, either in your life path or in your thinking? And…what happened next? If you’ve come to the realization that you need to participate, or read other takes on this topic, visit Julie at Using My Words.

The happiest day of my life came when I finally realized that it wasn’t about me.

What do I mean by that? I mean that people do not obsess about what I say or do or wear or think, so long as I don’t run around naked and scream obscenities at the top of my voice.

And why isn’t it about me? Because people are too wrapped up in themselves to worry about what I’m doing.

This was a singularly liberating experience.

I’m so much more relaxed now. It’s a lot easier to just be myself. I don’t feel pressure to go and buy a new outfit for every social occasion, although it is fun to do so at times. I don’t take things that people say to me personally, because usually what they say is more about their feelings, not my actions. I don’t worry about saying something out of place, because I can’t control how someone hears my words. I feel a lot more confident. And, ironically, that leaves a better impression on people than anything else.

So now, I just do my thing. I live my life the best I can. And I’m enjoying it immensely along the way.

Leave a Reply

