Let’s not go there. It’s a silly place.

Recently we sat by our sons as they experienced something special for the first time. Spouse and I had discussed it and we decided that the time was right.

It was time for them to watch…

Monty Python and the Holy Grail.

We thought they might be a little young, and I had forgotten about the whole Castle Anthrax thing, but it was ok. I handled Castle Anthrax the same way I handle all stuff like that: I don’t make a big deal of it, keep a straight face and pretend there isn’t anything to get all atwitter about. And it works. But to answer your question, they got most of it. Especially Thing 2 who just gets everything you throw at him. They thought it was terribly silly, which of course it is, but they loved it. Better yet, they now get more of the things I say a lot, like “There was much rejoicing”, “It’s only a flesh wound”, and “Five is right out!” Their favorite parts seemed to be the Moose in the opening credits, the Killer Rabbit and the Black Knight.

When I was renting the movie, I had the following exchange with the sales clerk, who appeared to be about 17:

Clerk: (nodding knowingly at me and Thing 1): First time?

Me: Oh yes. We thought it was time

Clerk: Ah, I remember my first time. It was with my parents, too. It’s a very special moment.

Me: Oh yes. I agree.

I’ve decided that some people get Monty Python, and some people don’t. And for those who don’t, there is no explaining why this is a big deal to them. They just won’t get it.

It’s fun to share things like this with them. Fortunately, they seem to like a lot of the same things we do. It would be a damn shame if they decided to rebel by liking stuff like Benny Hill.

I can’t wait until they are old enough to watch “The Meaning of Life”. And I’m not worried about it because “eetz only wa-fer theen!”

Leave a Reply

