So not all of you will get this

This will probably only make sense to about three of you. Maybe four. But I’m posting it anyway because it’s cool. To me. And this blog is all about me, so there.

When I was playing the cello seriously, I had a few “signature” pieces. My “go to” works for contests and auditions and the like. My favorite one of them was “Kol Nidrei” by Bruch. I owned this piece.

So when I started to play again a few years ago, I thought I would take it out again and see how it would work. Let’s just say that my technique had atrophied a bit. Anyway, I told myself that one day I would be able to play it again. I hadn’t really looked at it in about 18 months and today I thought I would have another go at it.

I’m really glad I did. I can play all but four measures, and only because those measures are wrong in the version that I downloaded. When I get the “real” version once again, I rather suspect those measures will come back.

I’m really stoked. I don’t quite “own” the piece again, but I can play it. It makes me feel more like a real cellist again having this under my belt. Now I’m wondering what else I can tackle of the old repertoire. It feels good.

I think it’s a sign that things are going to change for me a bit. Good things are coming. I can feel it.

This is the piece as performed by Julian Lloyd Webber, one of my faves. It’s kind of long, but it’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

