In order to finish first….

you first must finish.

I’m not sure who said that first, because when you google it you get like a bajillion hits. Anyway, it’s a car racing maxim. It’s pretty self explanatory, no?

For a while now, and we’re into multiple years here, I haven’t really finished anything. I’ll get a good start and then just sort of putter off. I don’t really have a good reason for this, other than a personal failing. This would have to be the one thing about myself that I would change, given the chance. All of the other things I wish I could change would actually be helped by addressing this one issue.

I have so many things that I want to do, but I’m not getting any of them done because I don’t finish anything. I feel like I’m just flailing about doing a little bit of a whole lot of stuff, but not focusing on any one thing. I can’t get ahead on anything because I can’t finish any individual race, to bring my racing metaphor into this paragraph. This needs to change.

So that would be my main goal for this coming year. Actually, all subsequent years as well. I just need to finish what I start. Starting with this post. I have a huge list of things to do around here that isn’t getting any closer to done while I’m blogging. 🙂

Leave a Reply

