Friday Fragments 5-29-09

 Friday Fragments?

* Bumper Sticker of the Week:  Frodo failed.  Cheney has the ring.

* Thing 2 is running track this summer and I think it’s going to kill me. Three nights a week clear on the other side of town. At rush hour. My biggest problem with it is that it makes it hard to keep to my diet since I can’t cook as much. On the plus side, I do run three nights a week while he’s practicing.

* 20 year high school reunion. Go or no go? Discuss.

*Saw a guy today driving a Prius.  And throwing trash out his window.

*  I had this list of books that I wanted to read, but I just can’t make myself do it.  They are all Books You Should Read and very serious like.  I’m not there right now.  What am I reading to settle down at night?  Calvin and Hobbes anthologies.  Suggestions anyone?  Nothing too serious and nothing that could get turned into a Lifetime movie.  Thanks!

*  Saw an ad for a sleep aid called “Melissa”. Think someone is trying to tell me something?

*  I was going to post some orchestra music, but WP requires me to purchase a “Space Upgrade” for that.  Since I am cheap, no music for you.  

*  It’s a good thing that I have some permanent birth control, because after seeing my beyond adorable nieces in their recital this weekend, I was sorely tempted to go for the girl.   

*  For my next trick, I’m going to try and work with blogger so that it points to here when people click on the google search.  See, I get a ton of hits from “LG Dishwasher Error Codes”.  My longtime reader remembers the saga.  Anyway, since I got hits from all over the world with that, I want to see them on my clustermaps!  We’ll see how that goes.

*  Speaking of appliance follies, the ice door on my fridge is opening and closing all on it’s own.  In the middle of the night.  I have enough trouble sleeping, thankyouverymuch, I don’t need the Refrigerator of the Damned keeping me awake.  Although watching the cats deal with it is kind of amusing….

*  Do you people not like cookies?  Leave a comment on this post and this post to be entered into the cookie drawing.  You’ve got until Friday midnight to enter.  I know more of you have made the jump that have left comments.  I have clustermaps and I can see you! For instance:  Seattle.  I see you.  I know you are there.  Don’t you want cookies?

That’s it for me!  Thanks for stopping by and see you next week!  Go by and check out Mrs.4444 for more Fragments!

19 responses to “Friday Fragments 5-29-09

  1. Well, aren’t YOU the Queen of Fragments this morning?! Nicely done, my friend 🙂

    Reunion-I only go the the “mixers” the night before; I get so see enough people and it satisfies my curiosity. I do not go to the big even the next day. I figure if I cared enough, I’d be seeing the people I want to see already.

    That littering thing? Man, what a jerk. Who litters anymore, for crying out loud?!

    Off to enter for cookies!! Thanks for playing FF this week 🙂

  2. What a great synopsis!
    I’m probably not doing the 20 year anniversary. George Strait has a great song about running into old highschool flames.
    Yeah, I agree about the PBC. Spouse occasionally thinks about having a girl. Of course, we would just have another boy because that’s all we have in our family.
    Have a great weekend!

  3. Wait…driving a Pruis and throwing trash out the window??? What a doosh.

    20 year reunion…I’d stay home and viewthe results on Facebook.

  4. I enjoyed the fragments – it sounds like you and I have a bit in common (don’t go for the girl. It never works.)

    I skipped my 20th. I’m already in contact with the couple of people from HS that I care about. I wish they had put out a booklet with pictures and brief bios, though, so I could enjoy the “oh look he’s bald” and “she married a guy who wears pleather” moments – without actually having to talk to them at some overpriced party. Plus, I hate name tags.

    Suggestions for light reading material? I recommend Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series (One for the Money might be the title of the first one. They’re all numbers – up to Fearless Fourteen now.) Quick reads, and they get better as they go. By the third one, I was laughing out loud while I was reading.

    Off to check your contest. A deal’s a deal!

  5. I haven’t been to any of my reunions because I couldn’t stand hearing “You graduated with us?” all night

    How about “Surrender the Pink” or “Postcards From the Edge” both Carrie Fisher and both hilarious. Edge is a movie, so you can watch it WHILE you read. Woo hoo! Double score!

    Bumper stickers rock. My fav: “Jesus Loves You. Everyone Else Thinks You’re An Asshole”

    Headline: Prius Prick Pollutes Parkway

    We had an ice maker but the line froze this winter when all the other pipes in the house froze, proving the point that we can’t have anything nice. Ever

    Go for the girl and you’ll have twin boys. Red heads.

  6. DON’T go for the girl. Just sayin. Because I am beyond angry and disappointed in MY daughter this morning (no, she isn’t pregnant), so I think they are ALL devils. Reunion? I don’t know; I have never been to one, and don’t plan on going to any (high school=hell for me), so you are on your own there. And I want cookies, so can I go back and comment AGAIN? I SO will.

  7. I attended my 20 year anniversery and had tons of fun you should think about going. It was odd coming back after 20 years and seeing how everyone had changed

  8. That bumper sticker is great!!!

    And totally laughed at the guy throwing out trash… so much for saving the environment!

  9. Did not attend the 20th and don’t regret it.

    DID sign up for Classmates before the reunion and heard from the people I actually liked in HS and have kept in touch. And I agree that it’ll be more fun to watch the results on Facebook, from the sidelines, than to actually participate.

    We have a Seattle mystery reader as well.

    Come in, Seattle – we know you’re out there! Reveal yourself!

    PS – Book: The Time Travelers Wife, The Red Tent, The Reader. All fast-moving page-turners.

  10. Great googly moogly you sound like a pusher! “don’t you want cookies lil girl?” I’m almost scared enough to go comment. Almost…

    Have a great Friday!!

  11. I actually sucked in air and said “NO!” outloud to the throwing trash out the window. They obviously borrowed the prius. LOL My mother drives one of those things and we don’t even get to have anything in the car but glass containers that we fill with tap water, but can only drink when we are outside of the car!

    Go to the 20th. I somehow got roped into organizing the 25th reunion for my class. I had exactly two friends in HS and am having a blast planning this thing. We’ve got a hundred or so people on Facebook from HS that update fairly regularly, so it’s been a lot of fun getting to know these people totally outside of those miserable 4 years. 🙂

    I don’t have children but have two nieces that I love and adore so much that I sometimes think about that having a baby thing…but then I wake up and look at the great photos my sister sends me.

  12. I’ve seen that bumper sticker – funny!

    The running is making up for the not cooking.

    GO!

    Awesome

    I just read blogs instead of books.

    Weird. Melissa doesn’t make me think of sleep.

    Since I read at work sometimes, no music is better for me!

    Girls rock – until the become teenagers I’m thinking…

    Cool idea! That would make you look super popular too! Not that you aren’t already super popular, but it would make you look internationally popular!

    Take a video and put it up here – I want to see that.

    Since I’ve been sort of absent this month, I’m just now learning about the cookies. I’ll click on the links now!

  13. I am going NUTS about the Prius guy! That is beYOND ridiculous.

    As for the reunion, it depends on how big your class was…go for the cocktails party if it’s a big class, and might as well go for the whole shebang if it’s a small class.

  14. Love me some Christopher Moore books. But only if you like to laugh out loud. You seem to me like the kind of Lutheran who could enjoy Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal. His best work, in my opinion, but I did also really enjoy his latest, Fool, and The Stupidest Angel is great, and Fluke is funny and….

    Right now I’m reading JPod by Douglas Coupland, and that’s pretty good, too. Funny.

  15. SillyQuebecers

    The dude with the Prius who threw trash out his window violated several social norms. It reminds of this old man in line at Target. He bought a few reusable shopping bags and something else. I can’t remember what the item was- but it could have easily gone in his pocket. After he pays he then goes and grabs a regular to put everything in. He could have carried it all out without a bag. Better yet, why not put one of the things in the bags?

  16. The littering prius driver kills me.

  17. “Refrigerator of the Damned” = LMAO

    “Dishwasher Error Codes” is better than the search terms that direct people to my blog ~ I’d imagine it being quite the disappointment for people searching ‘naked housewife’ to come across my craft- & music-filled blog lol

    Mingle on!! ♥

  18. Mingle Mingle

    Thanks for stopping by Penny Lane last week.

    I enjoy going to my hs reunions and my dh’s.
    I just love seeing everyone — no matter what. It is good to see people who helped you grow up and become who you are. They all had some sort of input.
    The only thing I don’t like — is the loud music at some.

  19. Go to the reunion.
    Read “Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal.” I laughed til I cried.
    I’m hoping I can post music when I get my domain.
    I love cookies. But they have to be gluten-free or PMS seems like a walk in the park. 😉

Leave a Reply

