Friday Fragments 6/19/09

*  Bumper sticker of the week:  Cthulu saves, in case he gets hungry later.

*  Really?  That’s my fault?  I guess it is because I set a bad precedent for expectations over the years.  But still.  My fault?  Sheesh.

*  Not sleeping, again.  Ugh.

*  Track season is over for my guys, but Thing 2 still wants to train with the team until the sessions are over.  And seeing as he’s allowed to, I don’t see this as being a problem, other than going across town in rush hour traffic when it is over 100 degrees outside.  No problem whatsoever.  Seriously though, I’m glad he has something that he really likes.

*  Fingernail season is almost over in my house.  I have to start practicing again soon, which means the very pretty fingernails that I have been growing will have to go away.  With my luck, they’ll all break the day of the auction so I have crap nails the one day it would really matter.

* The fundraiser has gone from “abysmal failure” to “not successful”.  There’s six days left, so here’s hoping!

*  I haven’t been talking to my mom as much with all of this stuff going on both at work and at home, so I finally made it a point to talk to her yesterday.  And then she IMMEDIATELY says “Do you know that it’s been 11 days since we’ve talked?  You’re my only family, at my age you should call me every day.”  Ok, for starters, not her only family, just only child, and then “at her age?”  Sheeh, she’s 61 and in fabulous health.  By the end of the conversation I was completely reminded of why I don’t like to talk to her when I have a lot going on.  Added drama is not needed, thankyouverymuch.  What this woman really needs are some friends.

*  My cat keeps finding stuff on the floor of my office to eat.  I have no clue what it could be since there isn’t anything that I can see that would elicit such a response.  Invisible kibble?  Bugs?  Or maybe we just like carpet fibers?  Whatever he’s eating, it’s weird.

*Last week, when I said that my guest post at Jen’s place would have substance, that wasn’t a knock on the FF’s.  That was a knock on the, um, “ethereal” nature of the posts here.  You can read that post here.  Thanks for letting me guest post, Jen.  It was fun.  🙂

Ok, that’s it for me today.  No track, so that means I’m sleeping in tomorrow.  And by that I mean that I’m sleeping in, dammit.  Sunday/Monday is going to be a long day for me.  Need my rest.  Later!  Be sure to visit Mrs.4444 for more on this score.  Sorry, had to rhyme there for a moment.  🙂

16 responses to “Friday Fragments 6/19/09

  1. Moms have ways of making you feel THEIR age by emphasizing how old they are, don’t they? And they know when life sucks the most too, because that’s when they lay on the guilt.

    Ahhh..gotta love moms.

  2. margaret (the misanthrope)

    Oh gosh…nobody needs drama on a Friday. Fabulous guest post, by the way! I hear ya about tearing up at the amazing history of NASA’s space program. Heck, I get misty-eyed every time I watch a shuttle launch or land! (Haven’t gotten to see it live – drat – just on TV.)

    Every time, I always think to myself that THIS is what humans can accomplish when we get over ourselves, put aside our pettiness and individual differences, and work towards a common goal. We have so much promise and so much is within our grasp, if we can only manage to get out of our own way. *sigh* Thanks for two fabulous posts! Have a great weekend!

  3. I hope you asked your mom if the keypad on her OWN phone works, because she’s the one with all the time, sitting there feeling victimized. Sheesh!

    This is the season for me to GROW my treefrog fingernails. Wish me luck!

    Don’t worry. Nothing could make me feel bad about FF posts–I LOVE the satisfaction of unloading all of the tidbits. At least you didn’t say you were going to write a “real post.” haha

  4. Yeah, talking to your mother is like going to a Flea Market – every time you do you’re reminded of why you don’t do it more often. Ugh.

    Saw a bumper sticker (not on a Maserati) yesterday and thought of you. It said: Tact is for people who aren’t creative enough for sarcasm.

    No exactly concise – it was one of those big, square stickers – but still, it had “Mel” aaaaall over it!

  5. 100 degrees and he wants to RUN? What kind of a wierdo does that? Also, it sounds like your cat may perhaps have a slight meth problem; carpet pickers every one. 🙂 Here’s to hoping that the auction ends up being at least moderately successful, and that your nails last that long.

  6. Fingernail season…LOL! Yup, you’re a string player. 😉 I don’t have a fingernail season, I keep mine short because I CAN’T STAND TO TYPE with long nails. Flute has nothing to do with it. However, you’re inspiring me to think about finding a group to play with. Who knows, maybe a flutist dropped dead and there’s an opening (harsh, but truly the only way a seat opens up out here).
    Hmmm…did your mom lose HER phone? Just wondering. 😉
    And I loved your guest post. I’m glad you could do it and since it looks like I’m going to be gone next month (fingers crossed…) you can come play again if you like. 🙂

  7. My mom is EXACTLY the same way. Sure she’s older at 72, but geesh, should’ve had more kids to pester.

  8. Isn’t it frustrating when people who don’t call you try to make you feel guilty for not calling them?!

  9. Oh boy….moms and drama…I can completely sympathize with you on that one!

  10. I think cat’s find things the natural eye can not see

  11. hey, all you have to do is get rid of a little “not,” and you’ll have “successful”

    🙂

  12. Gee, when you’re 61, your kids should call you every day? I’m 66…they owe me some big time phone calls!!

  13. (that was a *mingle*, BTW)

  14. Is it inevitable, that when we moms reach a certain age we lose all recollection of the sad stereotype of the mom who nags her children to call more often? Which only means children will call less often? What is up with that?

  15. I get the mama drama– totally and I’m willing to bet you didn’t sleep in….

  16. Your mom sounds like my mom…but there are 3 of us kids! Why do I have to call every day?

Leave a Reply

