What I’ve been doing instead of blogging, Part One.

Before

yucky laundry

I wish I could tell you that I made it look worse for the picture, but, sadly, this is not the case.  It pretty much looked like this all the time.  I hated this space.  H.A.T.E.D.  It was small, inefficient, and impossible to work in.  But now, thanks to elfa and the w/d stacking kit, and a nice coat of paint, we have…

new laundry 1

I wish I could get a better angle on this space, because there are two (!) shelves above the w/d now in addition to the ones on the side.  The amount of storage in there now is amazing.  It is so cool.  There is lots of space to walk and work and laundry doesn’t entirely suck anymore.  It’s even been three weeks since I’ve done this, and it still looks this good, but with a few more things, like laundry baskets, on the shelves.

I have one more completed project (the kid’s bath) to show you tomorrow.  The master bed/bath are not quite complete, but should be within the next ten days or so.

11 responses to “What I’ve been doing instead of blogging, Part One.

  1. This looks great! I’m jealous of anyone who can do laundry right now since we have a vent problem and can’t use our brand new dryer! It’s not even like it’s a nice laundry room (awful, cramped unfinished space in the basement) or fancy machines (looks like something from the 70s…). But sometimes I just want to throw something in the wash – not ask the neighbors if I can borrow their machine. We really need to get this fixed.

    But aside from my tedious, self absorbed comment – your new space really looks great!

  2. We did an addition last year, adding a master bedroom, bath, closet and moving our laundry room inside – in the hall to our new bedroom. It used to be in the garage. Let me tell you, I would have paid the entire amount of the addition, for our new laundry room ALONE. So, I can relate! Congratulations on your new laundry space – love it!

  3. It does look good, we are in the middle of a little remodel ourselves. It’s not fun.

  4. Wow! I can’t believe what a difference that made! And I have w/d envy, in case you were wondering. : )

  5. That is 10 kinds of cool!!!! My W/D will stack, but I’m not sure I’m willing to try it.

  6. Wow, I love it!! I got a stackable washer, but not dryer because I wanted to save $300 on the dryer, but now I’m wishing we didn’t. Then again, we’d have to rip out lots of built in shelves and it would be a nightmare. Nice job!

  7. Damn, Girl! You work fast!

    Can I get you to come to Alabama to finish the STILL uncompleted kitchen project?

    Hell, I can’t even find the time to bake cookies!!

  8. It looks great! A fabulous makeover. My laundryroom is jealous of the attentions.

  9. margaret (the misanthrope)

    Wow. Hats off to you! When you’re done with the laundry room, I have, um, half a house that needs redoing 🙂

    Stacked W/Ds are where it’s at! I had never seen a full-size stacked W/D till I met J. The townhouse means that space is at a premium. I still tell J that I married him for his washer/dryer setup *giggle*

  10. Can you come over and sort out my mess now? What a productive little elf you’ve been!

  11. WOW! It’s beautiful! And in that small space, I can see why you would want/need the verticle set-up. It looks terrific.

Leave a Reply

