What I’ve been doing instead of blogging, part two

So, as promised, more DIY pics.

This is the kiddo’s bathroom.  I didn’t take a full before shot, but the entire bathroom was painted with these

fish

These were handpainted on the wall using a stamp. There were probably about 200 of the little effers. And yes, I did paint them all. I also had this neat little sea grass thing acting like a wainscot. It was cute, but the guys had outgrown it all. But not so much because they begged me to take a picture of a fish and frame it so we could hang it in the bathroom. 🙂

Anyway, now, we have this:

bath 1
bath 2
bath 3

This wasn’t just a paint job.  The big project in this room was the cabinets.  They were this builder grade crap that had to be refinished.  They were MDF covered with this plastic shtuff that peeled off.  It was yellowing and looked just awful.  So, I peeled it off, sanded the MDF, and gave them a fresh coat of paint and new fixtures.  It looks soooo much better.

All of the fixtures, the towels, and the shower curtain are from Target. I just love that store.

Except, of course the item on the mirror in the last picture.

Hey Mel, that isn’t an “As seen on TV” is it?

Why, yes.  Yes it is.  It is the Touch-n-Brush!  And I am pleased to report that it works as advertised.  🙂

Even better:  I finished this up about three weeks ago.  I took this picture tonight.  They LOVE their new bath and are working hard to keep it clean.  That alone is worth every penny.  🙂

12 responses to “What I’ve been doing instead of blogging, part two

  1. adorable! love that blue.

    we have a fishy themed bathroom, too. i used stencils. made my own SHARK ones, of course. 😉

  2. Wow, Mel, that looks great! I love the colors and the shower curtain!

  3. Pretty funny. We have the same shower curtain in our master bathroom.

  4. Looks great. My shower curtain is from Target too. Five years old and still looks perfect.

  5. Looks great! The touch n brush would be a big disaster at our house though. My kids are at that age where they would eat toothpaste if I let them. I can’t even imagine what they would do with that thing whenever I left the room…

  6. Great colors in the bathroom. And those fishies? Were you hallucinating when you agreed to paint all of those? If not before, then during?

  7. Beautiful job! Can you come over and re-do my house? 🙂 J’adore Tarjjjjay, I think I furnished my entire first apartment there. Forgive my DIY ignorance, but what is MDF?

  8. That is REALLY lovely. If this were my place, I might not come out of the bathroom the whole time 🙂

  9. Ohhhh!!! Love the new look. But I have to admit, I like the fish too! The blue looks cool and inviting and love that shower curtain. Kuddos to you!

  10. LOVE IT.

    We just moved the kids’ laundry basket into their bathroom (from their respective bedrooms). Do you like it better there than bedrooms? Do you find yourself saying, “put your clothes in the hamper” often?

  11. You. Go. Girl!

    Looks awesome. Like a big-boy bath. :o)

    And I love Tar-zhay – MY entire bath is a la Target.

    If it doesn’t come from either TJ Maxx or Target, I don’t own it.

  12. If my boys ask me for the touch ‘n brush one more freaking time my head will explode. Good to know that it actually does work, though.

Leave a Reply

