What prompted me to do that? Vol. I

So on Friday I lamented my state of writer’s block and realized that I needed to do something to get me out of it.  Fortunately for me, I have nice bloggy friends who have given me a few things to write about.  If you have something you’d like me to write about, feel free to add your ideas in the comments.  I’ll answer them in the order that they were received.   Now, to get started.

Cat at Pink Asparagus asked me about my favorite kid’s book.

Wow.  There are lots of ways I can answer this one.

My favorite book when I was a kid was “Alexander and the Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Day.”  The rhythm in this book is so much fun.  I loved it so much that when I was in speech club in middle school, I used it in storytelling competitions.  And I totally loved reading it to my kids.  Unfortunately, they didn’t like it nearly as much as I did.  Oh well.

The next book I remember having a big impact on me was as a freshman in high school.  The book was called “Prince Ombra”.  For a kid who loved myths and legends this was a fascinating read.  If you can find it I highly recommend it.  I still have it in my night table.

To read to my kids, I really liked “Are you my mother?” This book actually gave me a clue as to how wicked smart Thing 2 is.  When I read it to him for the first time, he was about 15 months old.  He was sitting on my lap and I was reading it to him.  The entire time I could feel him tensing up as we read about the plight of the poor lost bird.  When we got to the part where the baby bird was stuck on the “snort”, he grabbed the book out of my hands, told me to stop reading and started to cry.  I had to reassure him that the book would have a happy ending. I was able to finish but he was still very upset.  I then realized that he really understood the story and all of the ramifications of it.  At 15 months.    We also liked reading “The Three Little Wolves and the Big Bad Pig”, “Dinosaur Roar”, and all of the Bonyton books.  Who doesn’t like the Boynton books?  They totally rock.  🙂

Now, I read with them and not to them.  This is a lot of fun because there is really a lot of good kiddo fiction right now.  Where was this stuff 25 years ago?  Anyway, we’ve read Harry Potter (of course) and Percy Jackson (of course).  Some other good ones are the Alex Rider series, the Ranger’s Apprentice series, and 39 Clues.

As I sit here and write this, I realize how much I miss that time where I would snuggle with them and read them their favorite book for the umpteenth time.  That was such a nice time for all of us and now it is gone.  I now curse every night that I thought it was a pain in the ass.  Fortunately, I had the presence of mind to realize that they would only be in that stage for a short period of time and my attitude towards it all was far more positive than not.

I just had a great idea.  I think I’ll read Prince Ombra to them.  It has great dialogue so I think it will lend itself well to being read out loud.  This could be fun.  🙂

Thanks, Cat!

8 responses to “What prompted me to do that? Vol. I

  1. Awww…I remember “Are You My Mother”, and I remember getting very upset for the little bird when he was stuck on the Snort. Thing 2 is not only wicked smart, but also has a remarkable sense of empathy – and we need more people like that.

    I also liked the one about Albert (?) and the purple crayon – he could draw anything he wanted and it became real. Fabulous! When I got a little older, I liked “The Phantom Tollbooth” – not sure if that one is even around any more.

    Now, hmmm…as far as post ideas go – have you tried any “As Seen on TV” things lately? I’d love to hear about that.

  2. Ok, I’ll have to check out the Alex Rider series and the Ranger’s Apprentice series for A. I think he might be too young for Percy Jackson. Great suggestions, thanks! 🙂

  3. I remember that every summer, Mom would pick up “classics” and Rob and I would read the books outloud. We thought it was a pain in the butt, but I look back with fond memories now.

  4. Are You My Mother was a favorite at my house while I was growing up – and I read it to my kids now. I have several books that I’ve passed on. Sadly – a few haven’t survived the past couple of years (my babies are awfully grabby) – but I guess I’d rather share the books than let them gather dust.

  5. My kids’ names are Elliot and Audrey. I had no idea about Alexander and the Horrible … until a friend of a friend told me she thinks of that book every time she sees my kids. I took offense the first time thinking that my son reminded her of a horrible kid. Then I read it and saw that Elliot and Audrey were kids in the carpool. We have the book, it’s a favorite of Audrey’s.

    We’ve read to Elliot James and the Giant Peach and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Both were fantastic. He’s too young for HP. But we might be on our way to Narnia.

  6. I am a HUGE fan of the Sandra Boynton books. Even though you don’t have small children, you still may want to look up Philidelphia Chickens and Dog Train which are compilations of several of her books and she sets them to music. When you buy the book, the music is written in the back, and there is a CD included.

    In Dog Train, the song “I Need a Nap” is sung by as a duet by Kate Winslet and Wierd Al. It’s lovely.

  7. OK, so lovely, maybe isn’t the best word to put at the end of my last comment, but once you hear the song, you’ll know that I didn’t mean pretty, beautiful, or smooth by the word lovely, I meant more lovable.

  8. The love for reading is one of the greatest gifts that a parent can give a child, in my opinion. I love that your son was so moved by that story. Enjoyed this post…

Leave a Reply

