I couldn’t have said it better myself.

What she said.

5 responses to “I couldn’t have said it better myself.

  1. Agreed. Unfortunately I work among very conservative people, so I have to keep my mouth shut about politics these days.

  2. And the choir sang, “A-MEN!”

  3. OK, so I’m a bit late on the comment for this one since things have already happened today, but being the conservative that I am, I am really worried about Obama, and having seen some things that I consider less than ethical (but let’s face it, I’m not sure that an ethical President could get elected in this country right now) I went to the Department of Education’s website and read up on the speech. The speech in and of itself didn’t seem so bad. It was the list of “suggested classroom activities” that went along with the speech that sort of made the hairs at the back of my neck stand on end.

    Here is a quote, copied directly from the word document provided from the department of Ed website. When I went to provide the link, I couldn’t find it again, but I luckily haven’t shut down my computer in a few days, so I have 20 open IE windows, and the Prek-6 (read only) department of ed document open.

    • As the president speaks, teachers can ask students to write down key ideas or phrases that are important or personally meaningful. Students could use a note-taking graphic organizer such as a “cluster web;” or, students could record their thoughts on sticky notes. Younger children could draw pictures and write as appropriate. As students listen to the speech, they could think about the following:
    What is the president trying to tell me?
    What is the president asking me to do?

    These sounded just like the questions a Sunday school teacher would ask my daughter or me if we were reading the story of Moses. Now, what is this story trying to tell me? What is this scripture asking me to do?

    I really don’t want my kid listening to the President of the United states in the same vein as they would a prophet. I want them to listen to any politician, republican or democrat, supposedly conservative or supposedly liberal with the plan to keep an open mind. If I want my kid to think, What is he trying to tell me to do? What is he asking me to do? How can I help him? I’m hoping that my child will be listening to a prophet for that type of talk. Anyhow, I didn’t have to worry about it. They didn’t show it in my daughter’s school today.

  4. I’m a conservative, and I loved the speech. I also used the lessons with my 6th graders. It’s like my daughter said, “He didn’t say anything we don’t already know–we should work hard and do well in school.” I don’t believe that the president was acting as a prophet, but as a leader, which he should be. He was reinforcing what we, as parents, tell our kids on a regular basis; it was nice to have that reinforced.

Leave a Reply

