Friday Fragments

Friday

I’m baaaack!

Yessirree, I’m back to blogging on a somewhat regular basis.  Woohoo!  Aren’t you happy?

Hello?

Is this thing on?

Whatever.  Any-way, I’m back.  And what better way to celebrate than by jumping back into the fray with Mrs.4444’s Friday Fragments!  So, to get started:

Bumper sticker of the week:  I haven’t been the same since the house fell on my sister.

And since it’s been so long, I’ll give you a bonus:  UFOs are real.  It’s the Air Force that’s a hoax.

******

Thing 1 is going to his first dance this evening.  He is going to this dance instead of a Boy Scout campout that focuses on shooting.  That’s right. My little boy chose girls over guns.  I am so not sure what to think of all of that.

******

I got my spouse the coolest bday present.  Can’t wait to give it to him on Sunday!

*****

If I have to look at another fundraising packet, I may just gag.  Seriously?  We just had the band (which was lame in the extreme), now we’re doing Boy Scout popcorn (for BOTH), and Thing 2 has a fundraiser for his school (Ugly Mug coffee).   GAAK!

*****

I’m down to my last six coke zeros.  After they are gone, I’m not going to buy any more.  That’s right:  I’m trying to decaffeinate.  My God have mercy on my soul.  THAT ought to make for some interesting blog posts next week.

*****

Do any of you read Slate?  Dalia Lithwick is doing this experiment where she is writing a chick-lit book.  She’s doing a chapter a day and she’s asking open questions about it on twitter and facebook.  Kind of interesting, but it makes me wonder.  The book I have in suspended animation is about as good (not that I’m biased, of course).  So now I’ve dusted it off and am working on it again.  Well, at least to finalize the outline so I can jump in and out as my schedule allows.    Tell ya what I’ll do.  Go read hers here, and if you want to compare that to the prologue and first chapter of mine (I’m actually through chapter 4).  I’ll put it under a new tab up top, ‘k?  Now, if it sucks, go ahead and tell me, but if you would be specific as to WHY it sucks, that would be good.  I’d like to actually finish this, so I’m cool with the criticism.

*****

That’s all for me today.  Be sure to visit the Hostess with the Mostest, Mrs. 4444!

13 responses to “Friday Fragments

  1. I guess in the world of a parent, when your baby boy chooses girls over guns it means he is growing up, huh?

    Happy FF!

  2. Have to laugh at your son picking girls over guns; that sounds like a good kid to me! 🙂

  3. I am so over that fundraising stuff.

  4. TGIF to you! Just read the Prologue and Chapter 1 and thought it was fabulous. I’m taking a Creative Writing class, and I’m here to tell you that there is no way in h-e-double hockey sticks I could come up with such interesting characters, swift plot movement and realistic dialogue…not if I took four hundred CW classes.

    I don’t mean to be nosy, and perhaps this is all part of the mystery, but did you live in NYC at one point, or work in fashion/retail or an estate attorney’s office? I ask because you seem to have detailed knowledge in those areas…and it doesn’t sound like it came from Wikipedia, if you get my drift. But maybe you just did really good research 🙂

    You did ask for critique and I’ll have another read with my editor’s glasses on, but really – I didn’t find any hiccups or slow spots anywhere. I was bummed when Chapter 1 ended. So, good on you! Keep it coming!

  5. good luck with the decaffination. i do that off and on. I’m off (or ON the sauce, however you want to look at it) at the moment. I always figure when trying to lose weight I best not ALSO deprive myself of my favorite can full of chemicals.

    you’re writing a book? awesome!

  6. wean yourself slowly from those d-cokes. the caff-detox headaches can be a byotch.

  7. Giving up caffeine is easy. I do it a dozen times a day…

  8. Good luck with your decaffination! I wouldn’t be able to pull it off *L*

  9. Welcome back! Glad I don’t have to feel bad about not having read your non-existent posts! haha

    My hub’s b-day is coming up in a few weeks. I’ll have to see if you write about it; I’m always open to ideas…

    Fundraising is a pain. Good luck with the quitting of caffeine!!

  10. Know what I love about fragments? My mind can keep up. Seriously, this is my mind, 24/7. Dying to know what the pressie for hubby was, and fundraising? AAAACK!
    Good for you with the Coke Zeros– good luck!

  11. So what was hub’s gift? I’m dyin’ trying to come up with something for Christmas….

  12. Giving up Coke Zero? Let me know how that goes… I need to do the same. *sigh*

  13. I have been a TERRIBLE commenter lately!

    I will definitley read your chapter and compare.

    And NOW I’m finally off to read that top secret post because you only gave me the password a week ago!

Leave a Reply

