Today we answer your questions…

Admit it.  You thought I wouldn’t get this in.  But I showed you, didn’t I?  HA!

So, to answer some questions.

1.  FNG=Effin New Guy

2.  My homework strategy that’s working.  Well folks, it isn’t fun, but here it is.  I sit next to him and read him his questions/problems/what have you.  It goes so much faster this way.  He keeps his focus and it all gets done in a reasonable amount of time with little fussing.  Yeah, I know I shouldn’t have to do this with a 6th grader, but that’s a topic I haven’t been talking about here.  The short version:  Thing 1 is getting re-evaluated in two weeks.  If he isn’t ADD, I’ll eat my car.  More on this later.

3.  The “job”.  I put it in quotes because it’s not a job, per se.  Yes it is work, but it isn’t paying. Yet.  I’m am doing all of the groundwork for a startup.  I can’t say any more than that since some of the people involved are still employed by companies that might not take a liking to this sort of thing.

4.  A few of you have noticed I’m in a much better place than I have been in a while.  This is totally true.  I’d like to take credit, but I can’t.  It’s better living through chemistry.  This will also be covered later.

So, are we good?  Good.

Now, the good things about today:

1.  The weather.  Again.  Aaaaahhhhhh….

2.  The fact that Thing 1 had two major assignments, a test, regular homework, catch up work, and tuba practice to deal with this week.  And he got it all done with a good attitude, a minimum of fuss, and no late nights.  Even his teachers commented on his good attitude through all of this.  He’s a great kid.  He just needs some help.

3.  Got all of my errands done.

4.  Made good headway on the new music.

5.  Did a lot of baking for Thing 2’s bday tomorrow.  More on that later, too.

So, that’s all for today.  Just under the wire, too. 🙂

4 responses to “Today we answer your questions…

  1. hey, i figure if you haven’t gone to bed, it’s still that “day” Midnight is such an arbitrary time, anyway 😉

  2. I really love your new blog format.
    Do you still have a snake? We haven’t heard anything about that in a while. I saw one at the pet store yesterday and wondered.
    Have a great weekend.

  3. Thanks for the explanations. REally. I may start using FNG regularly. Except that we never have a NG.

  4. I’m so glad things are looking up for you! And better living through chemistry is A-Ok. 🙂
    The homework battles are icky bad. Glad they’re getting better.

Leave a Reply

