She’s Alive….ALIVE!!!!

cat
see more Lolcats and funny pictures

**Yawn**

**Stretch**

**Scratch**

God, what day is it?  HOLY CRAP!  Has it really been six months since I’ve written a blog entry?  Bugger.  Do I even have readers anymore?  Does it matter?

Jen, my BFF-if-I-only-lived-in-Boulder gave me an award on her blog.  Mostly as a not-too-subtle hint to get off of my ass and start writing again.

So here I am, writing again.  I actually tried to start another blog, but that didn’t go anywhere either.  So, to see if I can do this again, I’m going to do the “31 Days to Build a Better Blog” challenge and we’ll see if that jump starts me again.  I’m a few days late to the party, so I’m going to do at least one of them to catch up.  The first challenge was:

Day 1 Task: Write an Elevator Pitch for Your Blog

Key Concepts:

  • Doing so helps to focus your blog.
  • Good to have different lengths of pitches.
  • Try to solve a problem or need.
  • Define your audience and keep it clear, short, and intriguing.
  • In creating the pitch, brainstorm keywords related to your blog.

Questions:

  1. What is your short elevator pitch?
  2. Did completing this task change your blog, or change the way you think about your blog?

Wow.  First challenge and I already see the problem.  I lost steam because I think my blog just became a place for me to bitch and whine and it was just no good for me at all on so many levels.  For awhile, I think it actually had purpose and direction, and then….

So.  I guess the first part of what I need to do is to figure out what I do want to blog about.  I do want to blog, I know that.  I’m just sitting here right now and I already feel a little better.  Or maybe that’s the wine talking.  Either way, it is good for me and I need to do it again.  Kind of like the gym, need to be doing that more often as well.

Right.  Where was I?  Oh yeah, the purpose of this blog.  I have lots of things I can  blog about.  I can blog about how hard it is to have two highly gifted children in the house, one with off the charts ADD, and the fun that ensues.  I can blog about what it is like starting a second career at almostforty and how unbelievably stressful/rewarding/scary/challenging that is.  I can blog about my cello.  I can blog about trying to lose weight and get back into shape.  So many choices.

But now that I’ve said all of that, I think at the end of the day, this blog is about change.  The changes I’m going through, the changes my family is going through, the changes the world around me is going through.  And the colorful metaphors I use when dealing with said changes.

Now that I’m done with the whole navel gazing thing, I guess it’s time to work on the pitch.

Colorful Metaphors is about how I deal with the changes in my life.  Some days it’s funny.  Some days it’s not.  Everyday is honest.

2 responses to “She’s Alive….ALIVE!!!!

  1. Yay! She’s back!

Leave a Reply

