The scariest words the parent of a gifted child can hear…

Mom!  I’m bored.

Oh sure, all parents hear this, especially during the summer.  But in our house, it takes on a new and horrifying twist.  They are smart.  They are resourceful.  They are creative. They can use the air compressor.

Ponder that.

The upstairs of my home is really nothing more than a mad scientist’s laboratory.  The area is strewn with half completed projects, plans for more projects, books, legos, models and the general detritus of the creative process.  I love it, but it drives me crazy.

The summer will be over soon, and they’ll go back to school, and it will be a little quieter and a little neater.  And in a shorter amount of time than I ever thought possible, they will be gone and it will be clean and quiet from then on.

And I will miss it with every fiber of my being.

So the next time they say “I’m bored” I will stop what I am doing and join them in their next crazy endeavor.  If for no other reason than to make sure the air compressor doesn’t explode.

***********

Day three of the 31 Days to Build a Better Blog asks you to promote a post.  So this is the one I will be promoting.  Even thought you are supposed to go beyond FB and Twitter, I’ll stick with those since I’ve never really even done that before.

And yes, I know I did two today.  I’m trying to catch up.  Give me a break!

4 responses to “The scariest words the parent of a gifted child can hear…

  1. Woo, Mel! Welcome back in the blogosphere!

    We’re also thinking of firing up Bitchspot.com (damn, why didn’t we think of that name to begin with?!) again.

    Keep up the good work!

  2. ha. can’t wait to hear what adventures you go on.

  3. My GOD I swear we’re living parallel lives! Every word here, Mel, every word. I could have written every.single.word. of this post.
    And CityGirl, what’s bitchspot? 🙂

  4. I hear “I’m bored” and my first impulse is to scream. Your answer is so much better than mine.

Leave a Reply

