Maybe later…

I firmly believe that if I could change one certain characteristic about myself, my life would be completely different.  That one thing is my horrible propensity towards procrastination.  Which is actually kind of ironic, come to think of it, because I’m always the one that pushes people into taking action.  But when it comes to myself?  Not so much.

Now that I’m starting my new career, procrastination is a serious liability.  I have lost too much business (ok, not a whole lot, but enough to really open my eyes) because I have put off a phone call by even ten minutes.  I wish I was exaggerating.

I’ve heard a lot about a book called “Eat that Frog”, by Brian Tracy.  I found a copy of it yesterday at Half-Price Books and started to read it.  After I read the first chapter, I thought that there were some really good ideas and that I would get right on them.  Tomorrow.

Ok, ok. I know. Pretty sad. I totally admit that it’s bad. But I am trying.  I see some progress here.  I wrote my blog post.  I’m writing my to do list in my head for tomorrow.  And when I’m done here, I’m going to sit down and do the exercises Mr. Tracy talks about in chapters 1 and 2.  Maybe there’s hope for me.

All I know is that there are lots of things I want to do in my life, and if I don’t start being more proactive, they aren’t going to get done.  Maybe a little frog eating is what I need.

********

Today’s exercise is to create a link post.  I’m not sure I entirely accomplished that, but I did try.  I’m still a day behind though.  Where are the other days, you may ask?  Well, those were more what I consider “offline” exercises, like analyze blogs in my space and email a commenter. But since I haven’t gotten a lot of comments again, it’s hard to do that second.

8 responses to “Maybe later…

  1. Ok, you can email me. 😉 What is this new career you speak of?

  2. Hey Mel! I thought you were writing your blog at http://fortyisjustanumber.wordpress.com/? I’d give you some tips on the procrastination thing, except I can’t help you. I have those problems too. Keep working on it!

  3. I’m a terrible procrastinator. Or maybe a really good one, in the sense that I’m very good at doing it.

    I wish you luck as you struggle with your own procrastination.

    Want to start a support group? (Not right now, of course.)

  4. i’m trying to count up the number of calls I should have made today and didn’t… i’m not sure i can count that high.

  5. I’m not so much a procrastinator as I am a “have so much to do that I can’t decide which one has the higher priority”inator. Thank Doofensmirtz.
    I’ve read that book and it was really good. I have a little sticky note on MacDreamy2: “What’s Today’s Frog?” Do I remember? Not always. But it’s a start.

  6. Hey Mel,

    Sorry it has been so long since I have commented. Blogging has not been my first priority lately, but I wanted to tell you that I really understand the procrastination thing. For pretty much as long as I can remember, the saying on my yahoo profile has been “Procrastination is the art of keeping up with yesterday.” There is some truth to that. Maybe the real art is to pick and choose on the types of things you procrastinate on? Good luck.

  7. Eat Frogs? Ok, the title does not make me want to open the book, but your review of it sounds interesting. I put things off for a while and then all of a sudden it’s like someone lits a fire under me. Lol. Good luck!!

  8. I need to eat a few frogs myself. Have lost business due to procrastinating, too.

    Saw a pretty nifty procrastination-buster, here: http://bloggingbehavioral.blogspot.com/2010/07/just-do-it-use-one-minute-rule.html

    It’s a small frog of an idea but sometimes it’s the little steps that help the most.

    p.s. would love to know a few of the tips Tracy talks about if you ever feel like sharing.

Leave a Reply

